Introduction

The Cap Blanc Shelter (Marquay, Dordogne) opens onto the Grande Beune Valley, a tributary of the Vézère Valley, which contains many Palaeolithic sites. These include some of the most decorated sites, such as the Laussel Shelter, the La Grèze Cave and the Comarque Cave, across from Cap Blanc. This frieze was the very first Palaeolithic sculptural ensemble discovered. The presence of a Palaeolithic grave, a rare occurrence, gives this shelter an outstanding symbolic context.

History

Working on behalf of Gaston Lalanne, Raymond Peyrille discovered the site in 1909. He emptied out almost the entire shelter in three months, revealing the frieze. The grave was found in 1911 during the construction of a building. In the 1960s, Alain Roussot excavated the western end of the site and conducted an initial study of the works. In 1992, Jean-Christophe Castel and Jean-Pierre Chadelle re-opened the Lalanne excavations. Both the frieze and the archaeological material were recently re-examined.

Topography

The shelter faces south, and is located on the upper part of a cliff on the right bank of the valley. It extends across 16.5 metres and may be divided into two zones: to the left is the shelter, and to the right is a small "alcove". The overhang measures three metres high at the highest point. The outline of the cliff indicates that the overhang did not stand out. The "alcove" is 5 metres long by 4 metres deep.

Chrono-stratigraphy

The site's occupation is uncertain. The results of the Lalanne excavations are inconclusive – the stratigraphy is difficult to decipher and part of the archaeological material has disappeared. Three archaeological layers have been identified. Nevertheless, a study of the material, with help from dating techniques, reveals that the shelter was visited over a period that spanned five separate cultures, from the Solutrean to the Azilian, with a significant occupation during the Middle Magdalenian (13,000–11,500 years BP).

Archaeological context

Given the disappearance of part of the material, it is difficult to describe the various occupations. The thickness of the archaeological layer, along with the abundant and varied archaeological material – including artisanal and symbolic artefacts and animal remains – provide so many indications that the site was heavily occupied. The presence of the grave of a young woman, dated to the Middle Magdalenian, gives this site a fundamental symbolic function.

Wall art

Fourteen animals sculpted in low relief are elements in a frieze on the back wall of the shelter. They have been affected by the removal of the cover layer. They are remarkable for their size (the largest measures 2.2 metres) and the depth of the relief carving, which exceeds 20 cm on average. A recent re-examination has revealed three successive decorative phases. An initial ensemble of large bas-reliefs of animals facing left was replaced by large-scale horses and bovids facing right, to which were added small bison sculpted in lower relief.

Introduction

L’abri de Cap Blanc (Marquay, Dordogne) s’ouvre dans la vallée de la Grande Beune, affluent de la Vézère, qui accueille de nombreux gisements paléolithiques parmi lesquels plusieurs sites ornés : l’abri de Laussel, la grotte de La Grèze ou encore la grotte de Comarque qui fait face à Cap Blanc. Cette frise fut le premier ensemble sculpté paléolithique mis au jour. La présence d’une sépulture, témoignage rare au Paléolithique, fait de cet abri un contexte symbolique exceptionnel.

Historique des recherches

Travaillant pour le compte de Gaston Lalanne, Raymond Peyrille découvre le gisement en 1909. Il vide la quasi-totalité de l’abri en trois mois, dégageant la frise. La sépulture est mise au jour en 1911, lors de la construction d’un bâtiment. Dans les années 1960, Alain Roussot fouille l’extrémité ouest du site et réalise une première étude des œuvres. Les déblais des fouilles Lalanne sont repris par Jean-Christophe Castel et Jean-Pierre Chadelle en 1992. La frise et le matériel archéologique ont récemment été réexaminés. 

Topographie

L’abri s’ouvre au Sud, dans la partie haute d’une falaise de la rive droite de la vallée. Il se développe sur 16,50 mètres et peut être divisé en deux zones : à gauche, un abri, à droite, un petit renfoncement dit « alcôve ». L'abri présente une avancée de voûte de 3 mètres au maximum. Le profil de la falaise indique que le surplomb devait être peu marqué. L' « alcôve » mesure 5 mètres de large sur 4 mètres de profondeur.

Chrono-stratigraphie

L’occupation du site n’est pas clairement cernée. Le résultat des fouilles Lalanne est incertain : la stratigraphie est problématique et une partie du mobilier a disparu. Trois couches archéologiques ont été identifiées. Pourtant, l’étude du matériel, en partie soutenue par les datations, révèle une fréquentation de l’abri sur une durée correspondant à cinq cultures différentes, du Solutréen jusqu’à l’Azilien, avec une occupation importante au Magdalénien moyen (entre -13000 et -11500).

Contexte archéologique

La caractérisation des diverses occupations est complexe en raison de l’absence d’une partie du matériel. L’épaisseur de la couche archéologique témoigne d’une forte occupation de l’abri, tout comme l’abondance et la diversité du mobilier retrouvé, qui regroupe artefacts techniques, symboliques et restes fauniques. La présence d’une sépulture de jeune femme, datée du Magdalénien moyen, donne à ce lieu une fonction symbolique primordiale.

Dispositif pariétal

Quatorze animaux en bas-reliefs constituent une frise sur la paroi du fond de l’abri. Altérées par leur dégagement, les sculptures impressionnent par leur monumentalité (2,20 mètres pour la plus grande) et l'importance de leur relief (>20 cm en moyenne). La récente reprise d’étude a mis en lumière trois phases de décor successives avec un premier ensemble de grands bas-reliefs de profil gauche, remplacé par des chevaux et bovidés monumentaux de profil droit auxquels s'ajoutent de petits bisons en léger relief.